Frequently Asked Questions

Entertainment Licensing

Amusement Game Centre Licence
What criteria are employed in the granting of Amusement Game Centre Licences (AGCL)?
Under the terms of the Amusement Game Centres Ordinance (AGCO), which regulates amusement game centres, an AGCL will not normally be granted unless the public officer appointed by the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs is satisfied that:
  1. the person applying for the licence is an individual person who has attained the age of 18; is fit to operate an amusement game centre; will adequately and personally supervise the operation of that centre; and is not the agent, representative or servant of any person whose AGCL has been revoked or whose application to renew an AGCL has been refused; and
  2. the place of the proposed operation is suitable for the operation of an amusement game centre and is located in an area suitable for such operation.
Can a body corporate or partnership hold an AGCL?
The person applying for an AGCL must be an individual who meets the requirements of Section 5(4)(a) of the AGCO. In the case of a body corporate or a partnership, the applicant must be a person authorised by the body corporate or the partnership as its agent or representative.
Is an AGCL required for the provision of amusement game facilities in the clubhouses of private residential estates?
Rather than apply for an AGCL, the authorised person in this case may apply to the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs for a licence exemption to provide amusement game facilities to residents and their visitors inside the clubhouse of a private residential estate. The Guidance Notes setting out the application procedures and relevant requirements can be accessed at the "Application Forms and Guides" of our website.
How is the 100-metre area specified in the licensing requirement measured?
The area is determined by marking a circle that is 100 metres in radius with the main entrance of the proposed amusement game centre at its centre. For details of this requirement, please refer to paragraph (1)(b) of "How to Apply" on page 2 of the "General Information on Application for Grant of a Licence" in "Guidance Notes on Application for the Grant of Amusement Game Centre Licence". It can be accessed at the "Application Forms and Guides" of our website.
Is an AGCL required for operating an e-sports venue?
Considering that e-sports venue, depending on its business operation, may be subject to the regulation under the AGCO, but applying some of the licensing requirements under the AGCO to e-sports venue may hinder the long-term development of the e-sports industry, the OLA adopts an appropriate mechanism to exempt e-sports venues from the requirements of AGCL. Operators or the authorised representatives (if the applicant is a body corporate) of e-sports venues may apply to the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs for an exemption of e-sports venues from licence requirement under the AGCO. For details, please refer to the guidance note setting out the application procedures and relevant requirements at the "Application Forms and Guides" of our website.

Download full set of Frequently Asked Questions of Amusement Game Centre Licence (in PDF format)

 

Trade Promotion Competition Licence
What is a Trade Promotion Competition Licence (TPCL)?
A trade promotion competition, as defined by the Gambling Ordinance established to regulate gambling activities, is a competition or scheme conducted for the purpose of promoting a trade/business/product sale by way of a game that distributes or allots prizes by lot/chance. Typical examples are lucky draws organised by department stores and restaurants to boost sales and promote business. Anyone who wishes to conduct a trade promotion competition in Hong Kong must apply for a TPCL from the public officer appointed by the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs.
How many TPCLs does an organisation require if it wishes to conduct daily draws during a certain period, say a month?
The number of TPCLs required depends on the relationship between the daily draws. If there is no connection between draws, i.e., the pool of those who did not win the daily prize on day 1 is not carried forward to the pool on day 2, they are regarded as separate and independent trade promotion competitions; hence, one TPCL is required for each daily draw. If, in contrast, the daily draws are to be conducted on a cumulative basis, i.e., those who did not win a daily prize on day 1 are added to the day 2 pool or those who failed to win a daily prize during the month are pooled together for a grand draw, only one TPCL is required for the entire event.
Are there any restrictions on the types of games, tools and prizes that can be involved in a trade promotion competition?
Any game that carries an explicit gambling connotation or serves as an alternative form of authorized gambling (e.g., a game in a casino, a mahjong, bingo or card game, guessing the results of football matches/horse races, Mark Six-type games, etc.) is forbidden. Likewise, such gambling tools and symbols as slot machines, roulette wheels, cards, chips, mahjong tiles and dice should not be employed, and such prizes as Mark Six tickets and mahjong tiles are not permitted. In addition, games that are not socially sanctioned are discouraged.
If I plan to conduct a trade promotion competition through an agent, should my company or that of the agent be the licence applicant?
If your company is a registered business in Hong Kong, it should be the applicant. However, you can still appoint an agent company to conduct the competition on your behalf. If the company wishing to conduct the trade promotion competition in Hong Kong is based overseas and has no branch office in Hong Kong, it should appoint and authorize an agent whose business is registered in Hong Kong to be the applicant. Please note that Form 7 must include details of the applicant company, and the licence is issued to that company.
Are there any restrictions on the title of the competition?
Licence condition (1) requires that no prize offered shall be a money prize. Even if the prizes offered are cash coupons, gift coupons or credit card spending credit, the competition should not carry such misleading titles as ‘Great Chance to Win Cash’ or ‘$10,000 Lucky Draw’. Moreover, the name of the prize sponsor cannot be included in the title if it is not a joint promotion event.
Can I conduct the competition through my distribution channels (such as department stores, chain stores, supermarkets, convenience stores, etc.)?
Yes, but you and your distribution channel(s) will each require a licence if it is a joint promotion event. As your distribution channel may conduct a competition of their own or other brands during yours, you are advised to clear with them the terms and conditions. For example, whether the winner of your competition will be allowed to retain the original receipt for joining other competitions.
Can I collect participants' information through different methods at the same time (such as by telephone registration, mail, fax, internet registration, email and SMS message)?
Yes, but the same entry (e.g., the same receipt number) should be counted once only to ensure equal winning chance for all participants. You should therefore remove all duplicate entries before drawing the winner(s).
Do I need to advertise the competition results in newspapers if it is an instant-win game where the winners claim their prizes on the spot?
Yes, you still need to place advertisements in newspapers which is a requirement by the law. Although the participants may not have left their personal particulars with you, you should account for the completion of the event to the effect that all the winners have claimed their prizes. You are also advised to leave a contact telephone number and/or website in case your patrons have enquiries regarding the event.

Download full set of Frequently Asked Questions of Trade Promotion Competition Licence (in PDF format)

 

Lottery Licence
If an organisation employs part-time workers to sell lottery tickets on public streets, will their salaries be counted as part of the lottery ticket's 'expenses', as stated on the application form?
'Expenses' refers only to the basic administrative costs incurred in the conduct of a lottery, e.g., the costs of printing the lottery tickets and publishing the draw results in newspapers. The salaries of part-time workers do not fall into this category. Please also note that you should keep the administrative expenses as low as possible, which should not be more than 20% of the total proceeds received from the sale of lottery tickets.
Which types of organisations can apply for a Lottery Licence?
The applicant organisation must be a bona fide non-profit-making organisation registered in Hong Kong. Even if your organisation is not a charitable institution or trust of a public character that is exempt from tax under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap.112), you may still organise lottery events for the benefit of such organisations, as long as you provide their acknowledgement/consent letter and an approval letter certifying tax exemption under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance.
Can a Parents-Teachers Association (PTA) apply for a Lottery Licence to raise funds for teaching equipment or the financing of a school project?
Yes. The PTA should obtain an acknowledgement letter from the school stating that the school is aware of the proposed lottery event and will accept the amount raised for the stated purpose and submit it to Office of the Licensing Authority together with the relevant application forms. After completion of the event, the PTA is required to submit an official receipt from the school for the amount received, an Income and Expenditure Statement of the event, and an Audited Annual Financial Statement indicating the flow of money to the school for the intended purpose.
This is the first time my organisation has applied for a Lottery Licence. What documents do I need to produce in addition to the application forms?
If this is the first time your organisation has applied for a Lottery Licence, you are required to submit Audited Annual Financial Statements for the past three years and three years' worth of Annual Reports/Newsletters/a track record of the organisation's activities/charitable works.
Is it possible for my organisation to carry out lottery activities more than once a year?
Organisations are permitted to apply for only one Lottery Licence every 12 months. Exceptions will be made at the public officer's discretion only in the event of unpredictable and ad hoc circumstances, such as a lottery held to raise funds for the victims of a natural disaster.
What should I do if I plan to sell lottery tickets on public streets?
You must first apply for a Lottery Licence authorising you to organise a lottery event. If you plan to sell lottery tickets on public streets, you should apply to Office of the Licensing Authority (OLA) in writing at least three calendar weeks in advance and provide details of the proposed sale dates, duration, exact locations, number of workers/participants and equipment. To enable OLA to devise a fair distribution of fund-raising venues, dates and frequency amongst all potential applicants, you are advised to apply at the earliest opportunity. Please note that public officer only approves the sale of lottery tickets on public streets. To sell them in such public places as shopping malls, railway concourses, housing estates, etc., the applicant must separately seek the approval/consent of the relevant authorities/management.
What should I do if I want to sell lottery tickets, collect money with donation boxes and conduct a charitable sale at the same event?
A Lottery Licence applies only to the sale of lottery tickets at a fixed price. If you intend to carry out any fund-raising activity other than selling lottery tickets at a particular event, you should obtain approval from the Social Welfare Department, Food and Hygiene Department and Division III of Home Affairs Department, etc.
How can we enhance our governance and internal control when organizing lottery activities?
The Corruption Prevention Department of the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) has published the “Best Practice Checklist - Management of Charities and Fund-Raising Activities” to provide a practical guide on good governance and internal control for use by charitable organisations when organizing fund-raising activities. Lottery organisers are therefore advised to read the booklet which can be downloaded from ICAC’s homepage at www.icac.org.hk/filemanager/en/Content_1031/fund_raising.pdf. For further information, please contact the ICAC Advisory Services Group of the Corruption Prevention Department.

Download full set of Frequently Asked Questions of Lottery Licence (in PDF format)

 

Amusements with Prizes Licence
Under what circumstances is an Amusements with Prizes Licence (AWPL) required?
Any person who wants to organise or conduct a game of amusement with prizes at premises licensed under the Places of Public Entertainment Ordinance regulating places of public entertainment must apply for a licence from the public officer appointed by the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs. Functions such as funfairs, bazaars and grand fetes usually require an AWPL.
Why is it necessary to apply for a Places of Public Entertainment Licence (PPEL) in addition to an AWPL?
This is a statutory requirement of the Gambling Ordinance (Cap. 148). According to section 22(1)(a)(iii) of this Ordinance, public officer appointed by the Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs may issue an AWPL to an applicant only after a PPEL has been issued by the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department to the premises involved.
Does the operation of (1) a claw machine or (2) a toy capsule machine require an Amusements with Prizes Licence (AWPL) under the Gambling Ordinance (Cap. 148)?

According to section 2 of the Gambling Ordinance (Cap. 148) (the “Ordinance”), “gaming” means the playing of or at any game for winnings in money or other property whether or not any person playing the game is at risk of losing any money or other property.

“Game” means a game of chance and a game of chance and skill combined and a pretended game of chance or chance and skill combined, and also means any game whatever in which - (a) a bank is kept by one or more of the players exclusively of the others; or (b) the chances of the game are not equally favourable to all the players, including among the players, the banker or other person by whom the game is managed or against whom the players stake, play or bet.

Under section 3 of the Ordinance, if the game is a game of amusement with prizes, the organisation and conduct of which should obtain an AWPL; otherwise, the concerned gaming event is unlawful.

(1) Claw Machine

A typical claw machine allows a customer to attempt to obtain an item available in the machine by a mechanical claw upon payment. Regardless of whether the customer can obtain an item from the machine, the game will end when the specified time is reached. It is uncertain whether a customer will obtain an item from the machine upon payment and the monetary value of the items available in the machine is significantly higher than the payment by the customer. Hence, the attempt to obtain an item from the claw machine may constitute “gaming”. The operation of such machine is therefore regulated by the Ordinance and an AWPL is required.

(2) Toy Capsule Machine

A typical toy capsule machine will randomly dispense an item upon payment. A customer will be clearly informed of the type(s) of items available in that particular machine, and the monetary values of items available in the machine are largely the same (e.g. same type of product but in different colors) and unlikely to exceed the payment by a customer. In such circumstances, the operation of such machine, which is similar to other common means of selling products, would generally not constitute “gaming”. An AWPL is therefore not required.

However, if the monetary value of some items inside the toy capsule machine is significantly higher than that of the other items, obtaining an item from such machine may constitute “gaming”. The operation of such machine is regulated by the Ordinance and hence an AWPL is required.

Whether the business operation modes of claw machine and toy capsule machines may constitute “gaming”, and hence require an AWPL will be determined on the actual game method or operation mode of such machines. The above examples are for general reference only.

If a shop operator organizes activities where participants will get prize(s) or item(s) of different values, is an Amusements with Prizes Licence (AWPL) required?

In general, an AWPL is required if the activity concerned is a game of amusement with prizes which constitutes “gaming” as defined in section 2 of the Gambling Ordinance. Each case will be determined on its own facts and circumstances.

In any event, the Office of the Licensing Authority will not issue an AWPL, unless the playing/operation modes of the relevant activity comply with the requirements for the issue of AWPL and fulfil all the vetting criteria for games of amusements with prizes.

How may an applicant of Amusements with Prizes Licence (AWPL) be eligible for a waiver or reduction of the licence fee? What is the application procedure?

In general, an application for a waiver of the licence fee of AWPL may be favourably considered if the applicant organisation or the ‘parent’ organisation of the applicant organisation is a charitable institution or trust of a public character which is exempted from tax under section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance (Cap. 112). As for an application for reduction of licence fee, it may normally be granted if the applicant organisation is a non-commercial or voluntary services group and does not charge or collect any fees for the participation in the games of amusements with prizes or admission to the venue.

These requests should be made by the applicant of the licence in writing to the Office of the Licensing Authority (OLA) stating the reasons and enclosing all supporting documents. The OLA will consider each case on its own merits.

Download full set of Frequently Asked Questions of Amusements with Prizes Licence (in PDF format)

 

Tombola Licence
Can the winnings of tombola games be paid out in kind, such as toys or gift coupons?
The winnings should be in the form of cash.

Download full set of Frequently Asked Questions of Tombola Licence (in PDF format)

 

Approved Fund-raising Activities
Trade Promotion Competition Licence
MyGovHK is the personalised interface developed on the GovHK portal.
news gov hk
Let’s Fight the Virus! Scan with “LeaveHomeSafe
Early Vaccination for All
GovHK: Residents
Youth.gov.hk
Approved Fund-raising Activities
Hongkong Post
National Security Education Day

常见问题

审批娱乐牌照

游戏机中心牌照
审批游戏机中心牌照有哪些准则?
根据规管游戏机中心运作的《游戏机中心条例》,除非民政及青年事务局局长委派的公职人员信纳申请人符合下列条件,否则不会发给牌照:
  1. 牌照申请人已年满18岁;适宜经营游戏机中心;将会亲自对游戏机中心的经营作适当监管;同时并非被撤销牌照或申请牌照续期被拒绝的人士的代理人、代表或雇员;以及
  2. 拟用作经营业务的地方适宜用作经营游戏机中心,并位于适宜经营游戏机中心的地区。
法团或合伙可否持有游戏机中心牌照?
任何申请游戏机中心牌照的人士都必须符合《游戏机中心条例》第5(4)(a)条的规定。如希望以法团或合伙名义取得牌照,须授权一名人士,以该法团或合伙的代理或代表的身分提出申请。
在私人屋苑住客会所内提供游戏机设施,是否必须申领游戏机中心牌照?
在私人屋苑住客会所内设置游戏机设施,以供住户及其访客使用,除了申领游戏机中心牌照之外,亦可向民政及青年事务局局长申请豁免该牌照。你可到本网页「申请表格及指引」查阅申请程序、相关规定及指引。
100米范围是怎样量度的?
以拟经营游戏机中心的主要入口为圆心,作出半径为100米的圆圈。有关规定的详细内容,请参考本网页「申请表格及指引」中,《申请游戏机中心牌照指南》的《申请游戏机中心牌照一般资料》第二页「怎样申请」第(1)(b)段。
经营电竞场所是否必须申领游戏机中心牌照?
考虑到电竞场地视乎实际运作情况或会受到《游戏机中心条例》(第435章)(《条例》)的规管,而套用《条例》当中的一些发牌条件在电竞场地可能会窒碍电竞产业的发展,因此牌照处采取合适的机制,以豁免合资格的电竞场地申领游戏机中心牌照。营运者或获授权代表(如以法人团体名义申请)可向民政及青年事务局局长申请豁免电竞场地根据《游戏机中心条例》(第435章)领牌的规定。详情请参阅本网页「申请表格及指引」中载有申请程序及相关规定的指引。

下载全部游戏机中心牌照常见问题 (PDF版本)

 

推广生意的竞赛牌照
什么是推广生意的竞赛牌照?
根据规管赌博活动的《赌博条例》,「推广生意的竞赛」是指为推广生意或业务,或推销任何产品而举办并以抽奖或博彩游戏的方式分发或分配奖品的竞赛或计划。常见例子包括百货公司和餐厅为推广业务而举办的抽奖活动。任何人士如欲举办推广生意的竞赛活动,必须先向民政及青年事务局局长委派的公职人员申请推广生意的竞赛牌照。
若某机构一个月内每天都举办抽奖活动,该机构需要申请多少个推广生意的竞赛牌照?
所需牌照数目将视抽奖活动之间的关系而定。假如第一天和第二天的抽奖活动并无任何关系,举例说,第一天未有中奖的参加者不会纳入第二天的抽奖名单之中,则这两天的抽奖活动将视作个别而独立的推广活动,因此该机构必须分别为每一天的抽奖活动申请牌照。相反,如抽奖活动是以累进方式进行,即第一天未有中奖的参加者将自动纳入第二天的抽奖名单之中,或同一个月内所有未有中奖的参加者将集合起来进行一次大抽奖,则该机构只须为整个活动申请一个牌照。
推广生意的竞赛所采用的游戏形式、工具和奖品有没有限制?
任何可能带有明显赌博含意,或在合法赌博渠道外提供另类机会的游戏(例如赌场内的博彩游戏、麻将、氹波拿、扑克牌、估计足球赛事/赛马结果及六合彩形式的游戏等)均一律禁止。同样地,赌博用具和象征物件,例如角子老虎机、轮盘、扑克牌、筹码、麻将牌和骰子等均不得用作游戏的工具,而六合彩票、麻将牌等亦不得用作奖品。此外,任何不为社会接受的游戏都不会获得批准。
假如我计划透过代理公司举办推广生意的竞赛,申请人应该是我的公司还是代理公司?
假如你的公司是一家香港注册公司,便须由你的公司提出申请,但你仍然可以委托代理公司代为举办有关竞赛。然而,若你的公司是一家在香港没有分公司的海外公司,但希望在香港举办推广生意的竞赛,则应委托和授权一家香港注册的代理公司代办申请。请注意在表格7上填写的均为申请公司的详情,而牌照只会发给该申请公司。
竞赛的名称有没有限制?
根据发牌条件(1)的规定,推广生意的竞赛不可提供现金奖。就算奖品是现金购物礼券或信用卡签帐额,亦不能以「现金大抽奖」或「万元大抽奖」作为竞赛名称,以免误导参加者。此外,如非合办的推广活动,不应把奖品赞助公司的名称一并列于竞赛名称内。
我可否经分销商(如百货公司、连锁店、超级市场、便利店等)举办推广生意的竞赛?
可以,但如有关竞赛是合办的推广活动,你和你的分销商须分别申请牌照。此外,由于你的分销商或会于你的推广期内同时举行自己或其他品牌的竞赛活动,本处建议你先与分销商了解才订定竞赛活动的细则,例如是否容许得奖者于领奖后取回收据正本,以参加其他竞赛活动。
可否同时以不同形式(如电话登记、邮寄、传真、网上登记、电邮及短讯等)收集参加者的资料?
可以,但同一参加资格(如同一收据编号)以不同形式参加均只可作一次计算,以确保得奖机会均等。你必须把重复的参加资格删去才进行抽奖。
若竞赛的得奖者会即场抽奖及领取奖品,我还须要在报章刊登竞赛结果吗?
根据法例规定,你仍然需要在报章刊登广告。虽然参加者可能没有留下个人资料,但你仍要说明竞赛已经结束,而所有得奖者均已领取他们的奖品。你亦应考虑留下联络电话及/或网址,以便顾客查询有关竞赛的资料。

下载全部推广生意的竞赛牌照常见问题 (PDF版本)

 

奖券活动牌照
如有机构聘用兼职人员在公用街道协助售卖奖券,他们的薪金应否计算在申请表注明的奖券活动「支出」部分?
「支出」仅指举办奖券活动时所牵涉的基本行政成本,例如奖券印刷费及在报章刊登抽奖结果的费用。兼职人员的薪金不属此类。此外,你应设法节省行政开支,此项目不得超过奖券收益的百分之二十。
哪类机构可申请奖券活动牌照?
申请机构必须是香港注册的合法非牟利团体。假如贵团体并非根据《税务条例》(第112章)第88条所订明可获豁免缴税的公共慈善机构或信托,你仍可举办使该等团体受益的奖券活动,但你必须取得团体的确认∕同意信,以及团体根据《税务条例》第88条而获豁免缴税的批准信。
家长教师会可否申请奖券活动牌照,为学校筹款购买教学器材或资助学校计划?
可以,但家长教师会须取得学校发出的确认信,信中说明学校已知悉申请举办的奖券活动,并将接受所筹募的款项作拟定的用途。该信应与申请表一并递交牌照事务处。在奖券活动完成后,家长教师会须提交学校获取款项的正式收据并说明筹得款项作拟定用途、奖券活动的收支结算表,以及显示款项在学校因拟定用途流动的全年审计财务报告。
这次是我的机构首次申请有关牌照。除申请表外,我还需提供什么文件?
如这次是贵机构首次申请奖券活动牌照,你须提供过去3年的全年审计财务报告,以及年报∕会讯∕团体过去3年的活动∕慈善工作纪录。
我的机构能否在一年内举办多于一次的奖券活动?
每个机构在12个月内只可申请奖券活动牌照一次。民政及青年事务局局长委派的公职人员只会在发生任何未能预计及特别情况下(如举办奖券活动筹款作赈灾之用)才会行使酌情权。
若我计划在公用街道售卖奖券活动彩票,应如何办理有关手续?
你必须先就有关的奖券活动取得「奖券活动牌照」。假如你打算在公用街道售卖彩票,应在最少三个星期前,连同建议售卖日期、时间、确实地点、工作人员∕参加者人数及设备等资料,向牌照事务处提交书面申请。为了让牌照事务处就筹款的地点、时间及次数向所有潜在的申请人作出公平分配,请你尽早申请。请注意,本处批准的范围只限于公用街道,如要在商场、铁路站大堂、公共屋邨等公众地方进行彩票售卖活动,你须另行取得当局∕相关管理公司的批准∕同意。
如我希望在同一活动中售卖奖券、以捐款箱收集善款及进行义卖,我应怎样做?
奖券活动牌照只涵盖以固定售价售卖奖券活动彩票。假如你打算在同一活动中进行任何售卖奖券活动彩票以外的筹款活动,你须另行向有关当局取得相关批准,如社会福利署、食物环境卫生署及民政事务总署第三科等。
我的机构该如何加强筹款活动的管理及内部监控?
为协助慈善机构加强筹款活动的管理及内部监控,廉政公署防止贪污处编撰了《防贪锦囊─慈善机构及筹款活动的管理》。该指南可经廉政公署网页下载,网址是www.icac.org.hk/filemanager/tc/Content_1031/fund_raising.pdf。本处建议有意举办奖券活动的人士详阅指南中各项实用指引。如需进一步资料,请与廉政公署防止贪污处辖下私营机构顾问组联络。

下载全部奖券活动牌照常见问题 (PDF版本)

 

有奖娱乐游戏牌照
在什麽情况下需要申请有奖娱乐游戏牌照?
任何人如计划在《公众娱乐场所条例》(第 172 章)(规管公众娱乐场所的法例)许可的地方举办或进行有奖娱乐游戏,必须先向民政及青年事务局局长委派的公职人员申领牌照。在获发公众娱乐场所牌照的处所内(例如家庭娱乐中心、举办游艺会、卖物会、大型庆祝会等活动的场所),组织及经营有奖娱乐博彩游戏,通常都需要申领有奖娱乐游戏牌照。
为何提出有奖娱乐游戏牌照申请的同时,还须申领公众娱乐场所牌照?
这是《赌博条例》(第 148 章)的规定。根据该条例第 22(1)(a)(iii)条,民政及青年事务局局长委派的公职人员须待申请的场地获食物环境衞生署发出「公众娱乐场所牌照」后,才能签发有奖娱乐游戏牌照予申请人。
经营扭蛋机,是否需要根据《赌博条例》(第 148 章)申请「有奖娱乐游戏牌照」?

根据《赌博条例》(第 148 章)(《条例》)第 2 条,「博彩」是指「进行任何博彩游戏或参加任何博彩游戏,以赢得金钱或其他财产,不论任何进行该博彩游戏的人是否有输掉任何金钱或其他财产的风险」。

至于「博彩游戏」,则指「碰机会取胜的博彩游戏、凭机会结合技巧而取胜的博彩游戏、假装碰机会取胜或假装凭机会结合技巧而取胜的博彩游戏,及符合下述情况的任何博彩游戏 — (a)由博彩者其中一人或多人独佔做庄家;或(b)该博彩游戏并不给予所有博彩者同等有利的取胜机会,而博彩者包括庄家、其他管理博彩游戏的人或博彩者与其对博、对赌或向其投注的其他人」。

根据《条例》第3条,如组织或经营涉及「博彩」的有奖娱乐游戏,须申领有奖娱乐游戏牌照,否则有关「博彩」活动乃属非法。

市场常见的扭蛋机,一般在付款后以随机抽取的方式分发物品。顾客会被清楚告知可从该机器内所得到的物品,而从机器内分发所得的每件物品价值大致相同(如同类型但不同颜色的物品),亦不超过顾客所需要付出的金额。在这种情况下,营运此等机器与常见的物品销售方式相类,一般不会被视为「博彩」,无须申领有奖娱乐游戏牌照。

不过,倘若扭蛋机中有部份物品的价值(以纯金钱价值计算)大幅高于其馀物品,则可能被视为「博彩」,营运此类扭蛋机的人士须受《条例》所规管而申领有奖娱乐游戏牌照。

上述有关扭蛋机的例子仅供参考,其商业营运方式是否会被视作为「博彩」而须申领有奖娱乐游戏牌照,需视乎每宗个案的实际游戏方法或营运模式而定。

若商户举办一些会让参与者有机会得到不同价值的礼品或物品的活动,营运者是否需要申领「有奖娱乐游戏牌照」?

一般而言,若有关活动涉及有奖娱乐博彩游戏并属《赌博条例》第 2 条界定的「博彩」,商户需申领「有奖娱乐游戏牌照」。每宗个案需根据其事实和情况作出决定。

在任何情况下,除非有关活动的游戏方法或营运模式符合发出「有奖娱乐游戏牌照」的规定和有奖娱乐游戏的审批标准,否则牌照事务处不会批出有关牌照。

申请机构怎样才可符合申请免收或减收「有奖娱乐游戏牌照」费用的资格?申请程序如何?

一般来说,如申请机构或申请机构的母机构是根据《税务条例》(第 112 章)第 88 条获豁免缴税的属公共性质的慈善机构或慈善信託,则可获考虑免收其牌照费用。另外,如申请机构是一个非商业或志愿服务的团体,并且不会就有关活动收取任何参与有奖娱乐博彩游戏的费用或入场费,则可获考虑减收其牌照费用。

牌照申请人须以书面方式向牌照事务处提出申请,详述申请理由,并连同所有证明文件一併提交。牌照事务处会按个别情况考虑每项申请。

下载全部有奖娱乐游戏牌照常见问题 (PDF版本)

 

氹波拿牌照
奖金可否以实物支付?
奖金必须以金钱形式支付。

下载全部氹波拿牌照常见问题 (PDF版本)

 

2024年施政报告公众谘询
《香港国安法》颁布四周年展览
立即下载/更新升级版防骗视伏App
买一手楼懒人包
全民国家安全教育日
2024-25年度财政预算案
世界银行集团的有利营商环境项目
反诈骗协调中心
中小企业获取全面的资讯和支援服务网上平台
获批准的筹款活动
推广生意的竞赛牌照申请书
我的政府一站通
政府新闻网
香港政府一站通本港居民
政府青少年网站
获批准的筹款活动
香港邮政